Skip to main content

Legal Grounds for Divorce

Georgia is a “no-fault” divorce state, which simply means that if one spouse wants to file for a divorce, they do not have to prove that the other spouse did something wrong. However, Georgia also recognizes fault grounds. In the state of Georgia, there are 13 grounds for divorce:

  • The marriage is irretrievably broken
  • Intermarriage by people within the prohibited degrees of kinship
  • Mental incapacity at the time of the marriage
  • Force, menace, duress, or fraud in obtaining the marriage
  • Pregnancy of the wife by a man other than the husband at the time of the marriage (and unknown to the husband)
  • Adultery
  • Desertion
  • The conviction of a crime of moral turpitude that results in a prison sentence of two years or longer
  • Habitual intoxication
  • Cruel treatment
  • Incurable mental illness
  • Habitual drug addiction

In order to file a no-fault divorce, individuals must mark that the marriage is irretrievably broken. For any other grounds, you must prove the fault.

About Brown Dutton & Crider Law Firm:

The attorneys at Brown Dutton & Crider would be honored to stand by your side during this difficult time. JenniLance, and Tracy are experienced, transparent, and compassionate Georgia family lawyers that have been practicing attorneys for a combined 32 years. Contact us today to schedule a consultation and begin planning for your future.